Knife makers in unsuspecting places

orvisEarlier today, I was looking through the new catalog from my favorite clothier – Orvis. My wife calls them old man clothes, but what can I say…I am an old knife collector.

Even though I don’t fly fish, or get decked out in my Orvis hat to boots outfits to go deep woods, I really like the look of their clothes. This day, however, I was causally skimming through the pages not looking for anything in particular and whala- a custom knife maker’s knife pops right off the page.DanielWinkler

Yes, Daniel Winkler is an entrepreneur/marketeer as much as he is an award-winning custom knife maker. The exposure value of having a third page in their catalog, plus the Orvis endorsement is tremendous. Good job, Daniel.

The knife is a rugged Limited Edition Elk antler handled Damascus.

Winkler Orvis Limited EditionNow I like Orvis all the more…but I still can’t bring myself to order the “Winter coat without an equal.” It’s a casual, oh, so cool looking, leather jacket for a meager $2750.

Image credit: winklerknives.com and Orvis.com

Published in: on November 10, 2009 at 11:42 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2009/11/10/knife-makers-in-unsuspecting-places/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Got a note from Daniel after this post-

    “This is, I think, our 8th year doing a Limited Edition for Orvis. It has been great exposure and good business for us. This year we did 2 knives. The Friction Folder sold out quickly and the Hunter you covered is doing well too but some of those are still available.”


Leave a comment