The Knife Collector’s Christmas Dilemma

Christmas isn’t about getting presents, we all know that and yet, receiving gifts is still very much a part of it.

You may be getting a knife for Christmas. That’s the good news. The bad news is most of our family members don’t know a Spyderco from a C. Platts.

“What’s the big deal?” you ask. Well, we knife collectors have honed our knife collection down to either a specific type knife, handle material, make or era. While we like knives, we’ve kind of gotten particular.

So what do you do when someone is going to buy you a knife for Christmas?

In our family, we used to ask each other what they wanted so we didn’t buy them something they’d just use at next year’s Dirty Santa party. Asking each other in advance is a good way to get what the other person wants.

But what if you collect knives that can’t be purchased at Smoky Mountain? What are you then to do?

I’ll tell you how it works at my house. We buy our own presents, well my wife and I do anyway. Yeah, each of us will buy the other person something, but we buy our own “big” gift and then it is given to us by the other person…we just buy it for them to give to us.

But when you buy yourself a knife and it represents the present from your wife or kids, then you better watch out. This is exactly what happened to me last year.

The Knife Collector’s Christmas Dilemma

Last year I bought me an old stag Case Brothers toenail. I really didn’t buy it for Christmas, per se, instead it came my way right before Christmas, so instead of buying it and then sticking it in my collection, I decided to use it as the gift from my family to me.

Looking back, I’d been better off putting it in my knife display, then gone and bought me a Buck knife as my Christmas gift instead, because when it came my time to open my present, I knew exactly what my wife was going to say. I just knew it. But I only thought about this dilemma after I’d wrapped it and stuck it under our tree. Too late to do anything about it then.

Sure enough. Round the family we went. The way it works is the person opening the gift must announce who gave it to him/her and then hold it up for all to see. Well, it came my time and I realized I shouldn’t have made this knife a gift.

As I opened it, I announced it was from the family. Then I held it up and quickly looked to my daughter to my right and said, “Your turn.”  Then it came. That dreaded question. No sooner had I held it up when my wife said-

“Oh, that’s nice. How much was it?”

Take the advice of an old knife collector and when you want a knife to add to your collection, buy it and stick it in your display. I know the temptation is strong to make it part of Christmas, but don’t do it. You can rationalize it by saying you are going to spend money on a gift anyway, so why not get a knife for your collection at the same time, and I know that. Just don’t do it. It is not a good way to start off Christmas Day. Trust me.

Speaking of buying knives and getting into hot water, one day I’ll tell you the story about buying the A. B. Haines Elephant Toenail Collection. It’s been going on 10 years now, I guess it’s time to see the humor in it.

Published in: on December 15, 2009 at 7:53 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/the-knife-collectors-christmas-dilemma/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

