Folks who don’t collect knives just don’t get it

Knife collectors have screws loose

It’s a well established fact knife collectors can be viewed as a little out of whack. A bit odd. And not just from the anti-knife crowd, but by our closest friends.

It even gets worse when you throw old knives into the mix.

Well, I had a funny thing happen getting my hair cut a few days ago I thought you’d find amusing.

You know the routine- you sit there getting your hair snipped while your barber or beautician stylist politely entertains you by asking questions about your family, work, any planned trips for the holidays and any other areas he/she knows you are into.

Paul, my hair cut guy, knows I’m a knife collector, along with everyone else in my little universe, and after we’d covered all the other topics, he finally worked around to asking about my hobby.

“Bought any knives lately?” he asked.

I don’t know about you but I really don’t like getting into the details about my knife collecting hobby with non-knife collectors. It often leads to questions about- if I use them, how much they cost and how many I have, and questions like that. So I thought for a moment about how to respond and then remembered I did just buy me a new old knife off ebay that didn’t cost my last other leg.

“Well, yes, I have,” thinking I found an example safe to talk about. “I bought me an old one off eBay.” Then I made the mistake of adding one more tidbit about this purchase when I should have left well enough alone, but out it came before I realized it- “Yeh, its blades were broken off.”

Case TESTED XX Green Bone Toenail (1920- 1940)

Now remember most non-knife collecting folks already think we have a couple of screws loose.

When he absorbed what I said, he looked at me with the oddest look. I knew I had said too much. “It’s blades are broken off?” he questioned. I was at the point of no return and the hole was only getting deeper. “Yes,” I said, “you know I collect old knives and thought it’d be cool to have an old toenail with both blades broken.”

Then realizing he might be about to embarrass me by continuing to ask about something he thought was probably the stupidest thing he’d ever heard, he said,

“Oh, I get it. It’s like a car collector buying a car without any wheels on it, right?”

I swear those were his exact words. And at that point all I could do was say- “Yeh.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/folks-who-dont-collect-knives-just-dont-get-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Being that I like old cars as well as old knives the first thing that cme to mind would been to have replied, “no, its like buying an old car without a engine”. Maybe he would have understood.

    • Randy- you are absolutely right. At the time I was at a so deep in a hole, there was no use trying to explain it further. But I think you analogy is right on.

  2. I see I`m not the only person who thought buying that busted up toenail.I couldnt`ve cared less about the red bone that was with it.

    • So it was you who ran me up to that sky high final bid 🙂 The seller said he found it in a box at a garage sale. Probably got it for a buck too.

      Yeh, on the red bone- I’m gonna sell it on iKC or eBay. It’s actually in decent shape….probably VG.


Leave a Reply

