Life things can bump knife things

Sometimes when we want to play knives life things can get in the way.

Folks ask me all the time- “Scott, is your real job knife related?” Most of you here know it is not. I’m an auctioneer and I struggle, just like you, with trying to balance the many areas of life.

You know what I mean- work or personal things take priority over play things. These other things can bump you from going to that knife show even though you had it in your calendar for months or from traveling to meet a guy with that knife you are interested in- those kind of things.

Well for me these life things also bump me from posting here at CNJ or playing knives with my friends at iKC. I don’t want to sound like I’m complaining, but this week it’s work related “things” that are taking away my play time.

Traveled to Austin, Texas on Saturday and got back at mid-night Sunday. Yesterday and today- just slammed. In the morn, I leave at 4:00 AM to drive to two meetings and then on to Memphis, TN for two auctions.

Work is a good thing. Yes, we all have to make hay while the sun is shinning, but man, don’t you hate it when you’d really rather play knives- I know I do.

Published in: on November 17, 2009 at 4:19 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2009/11/17/life-things-can-bump-knife-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “…Yes, we all have to make hay while the sun is shinning…”

    But aren’t the days getting shorter now…

  2. So many things can affect the fine hobby of knife collecting. Life itself with all the demands it makes, sometimes, maybe often can get in the way.

    Could be why it is so enjoyable to sit back and enjoy those knives at the end of another long hard day….pass me a coffee and a polishing cloth.


Leave a Reply

