Collecting and the Web

Geek Rated: Moderate

Geek Rated: Moderate

In this the second installment of the Weekend Edition, I have to make another confession and it pertains to another collection I have going.

I know many knife collectors who also collect other knife related stuff, like displays and memorabilia. Ok, but what about collections of non-knife stuff?

I love old and I love tech. I don’t talk much, at least I don’t think I do, about the geeky side of things. But I study emerging technologies, social networking,mypb5300cs online trends and demographics, which is one of the reasons for this year’s knife community survey.

No, I don’t collect computers or hard-drives, although I did “stick back” my first laptop (Apple PowerBook 5300cs) from 1995.

Instead, I collect something that is an intellectual property- in this case, it is a real smart sounding name for something you use probably everyday. In fact, you used one of what I am collecting to get here to CNJ today.

Collection of Web Addresses (Domain Names/URL’s)

Yeah, I know that is weird, but the names fall into three basic groups- knife, online marketing and auction.

Here are a few of the Knife & Traveling Salesman related domains in my collection-

  • VintageKnifeCollector.com
  • SunfishKnives.com
  • KnightsOfTheGrip.com
  • JournalOfTheRoad.com
  • TravelingSalesmen.com
  • DrummersDairy.com
  • SalesmanSample.com
  • EDCClub.org
  • TalkingKnives.com
  • KnifeCollectingNews.com
  • KnifeJournal.com

My favorite – iKnifeCollector.com.

I am itching to launch iKnifeCollector.com– the next generation knife community. It is a networking platform for knife collectors. One of its areas will function similar to MySpace and Facebook.

iKnifeCollector.com- Tomorrow's web hub for collectors

iKnifeCollector.com- Tomorrow's web hub for collectors

I’m convinced it is the future community of knife collectors after studying the results of the Knife Community Survey.

The NKCA should be doing this. I’m also itching to write an editorial on the NKCA and its future, which this is it right here. It’s a virtual “association,”  to use that term loosely.

Anyway, and each new member gets their own personalized iKnifeCollector.com email address. Mine is scott@iKnifeCollector.com.

My biggest issue is the web building firms want about $15,000- $20,000 for Phase I – Yeah, I know, and I have the plan all ready to be built. Do you know how many toenails that will buy?

Domains, Real Estate and Auctions

I’m guessing I have grabbed about 40 domains to date. To most folks that is a bunch, but to the folks in the domain industry- it’s not. In fact, our company is conducting an auction for a “collector” on his portfolio of  2650 real estate related domain names. It will be very interesting. If you are near the Fairmont in San Fransico on June 11th, come watch us work. While our company only sells real estate at auction, but being the geek I am, I couldn’t say no to doing the largest collection of real estate domain names ever assembled; after all it is virtual real estate.

Lots of thoughts bouncing around today-

Have a Enjoyable Easter Weekend!

Source for future city image: Fantasy Art 3D Wallpapers: modern digital art, 3D artists, computer desktop backgrounds.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2009/04/11/collecting-and-the-web/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

