Knife marketing and RAT Cutlery Company

Weekend Edition

Knives come in a wide variety of shapes, sizes and designs. 

Many of us have different knives for different uses, and moods. Kind of like hats and boots, and if you are like me, I decide which to wear based on what I’m going to do and what kind of mood I’m in.

There are about as many knife makers as there are different kinds of knives, and as I watch the knife industry and its players I pay attention to how each knife company brands itself. How it attempts to separate itself from competitors and the message points in its advertisements. 

One company’s ad gets my attention every time.

ratcutlery

 

And while it catches my eye for more than one reason, I find their location to be of particular interest. The firm is based here in Sweet Home Alabama- Gallant, Alabama to be exact.  

The firm’s name is one you probably have seen before and you may even own one of their knives. It is RAT Cutlery Company

I was reading through the current issue of Blade Mag and noticed this ad again, so I decided to google map Gallant.

Would you believe they are only 20 minutes away?

I acted on a wild hair and emailed the owners requesting a time I could come visit on behalf of CNJ. Later that night, I got a favorable reply. So, in March I’m going to go check out this knife maker and it should be interesting. I’ll report back.

Published in: on February 21, 2009 at 10:25 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2009/02/21/knife-marketing-and-rat-cutlery-company/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I`ll drive down from Ohio and go with you if the blonde is going to be there.

  2. Let me go check it out first, then maybe I’ll let you know. 🙂

    I have an idea- You think we’d get labeled as sexist, if we did a CNJ poll on the best looking knife model. Let me know if you know of any others who should be added to the poll.

    ….. really I think she is the only one…all the rest of the ads by other companies have dudes in army fatigues gritting their teeth. 🙂

  3. I also live in Ohio. Roger, I’ll help with the gas money for a ride. Maybe we could look at the knives too. 🙂

  4. Life ain`t fair, why couldn`t she be the one guttin` the gator…..

  5. Don’t tell me this is going to be the most commented on story on CNJ….wouldn’t ya know it…..actually, the thought did run through my mind when I was writing it.

    Glad to you know guys are paying attention, now. 🙂

  6. It`s amazing what a pretty woman…uhh..with a knife will do.


Leave a Reply

