Tactical Fixed Blade Knives- I just don’t get it

Weekend Edition

Guys you have to help me here-

I have really tried to keep an open mind. I like knives. I like cool knives too. But, I can’t for the life of me understand the purpose of the tactical fixed blade knife. Tactical folders, I can get, but not the tactical fixed blade.

In an article in the current edition of Blade entitled “Icons of Utility- Factory Tactical Fixed Blades Offer A Healthy Dose Of Cut For Whatever Needs It,” the writer states-

 “…a category of cut misunderstood by most outside the knife fraternity, but understood all too well by those who use blades on a daily basis.” 

OK, I admit I don’t use knives on a daily basis, therefore I don’t get it. Not when there are hundreds of others, fixed and folders, already being made that can serve the same purpose.

I am really trying here. I just can’t get it. 

There is no doubt our military, law enforcement, etc. need aggressive knives, but the average Joe- I don’t see it. Working with it (cutting carpet, electrical wiring, scuba diver instructor, etc.)- I get. Buying a replica of a combat knife as a collectible, like the Mark II- I get. Using it as a recreational knife- hunting, camping, hiking or backpacking- OK, I can get that too.

A combat/survival knife 

One of the pitches used by knife companies for them is as a survival/combat knife? Tell me what the heck is stalking us? If something was after me, I think I’d rather use my Beretta.

OK- for combat/survival situations in an official capacity (military, police, etc), no sweat. Otherwise, we are in the wrong place. We might need to move, not buy a combat/survival knife.

And to just have one to walk around with? That ain’t cool and it ain’t smart. It is looking for trouble. I know the blade cuts and can be used for anything a “standard” fixed blade or some strong pocket knives can, but still I just don’t get it.

A Utility knife

It is obvious too that many of the makers try to help justify these knives by emphasising their “utility.” Yeah, right; I could use my machete to open my letters or trim my finger nails too.

We wonder why knives are under attack now from a legal and law enforcement perspective, but my gracious, let’s talk about the fact that a large segment of the target buyer audience for these particular knives- it is the young folks. Go to YouTube and see for yourself. I know young people want cool knives- heck, I do too. I know young folks don’t want to carry their grandfather’s old Case XX either. 

In the end

Knife companies are going to make knives buyers want to buy, or what buyers will buy. I can accept that.

What is the purpose of making a tactical fixed blade knife? I guess it is simply because they can.


Published in: on December 27, 2008 at 8:40 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/12/27/tactical-fixed-blade-knives-i-just-dont-get-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I hear ya! I think for me, it’s just knowing that if the crap hits the fan, you have a burly tool with which to survive. Granted, yeah, I can’t remember the last time I put one of my fancy tactical pig stickers on my belt! I’m actually a big fan of little fixed blades like “neck knives” because you can carry them discreetly for utility use. But you have a great point, I think knife companies clearly play to our masculine sense of protecting our loved ones and the need to be aggressive.


Leave a Reply

