Has buying a hunting knife gotten too complicated?

life_getting_complicatedOver Thanksgiving my brother asked me what hunting knife he should buy. He said wanted a folder- that will stay sharp and one that dress a deer.

My nephew, who is a major hunter, overheard the question and jumped in telling him Benchmade makes a good knife. 

Later that night, I sent him a link to the Benchmade website thinking that would do the job. Then the next night I get this email from him-

“Man I am lost!!!!!

Thanks for the site. I do not understand all of the lingo. Do you see a knife around $100-200 that has a “lock blade” and should take and hold a good edge? I will just use it to gut deer but do want a folding blade???
thx”

So, I headed to Benchmade. Good grief. I can’t tell from the specs which one is good for gutting a deer or not- either. I don’t hunt. I don’t fish. I just collect old knives.

But being the industrious guy that I am, I thought… I don’t know anything about hunting knives (other than antique folding hunters, which I actually thought about giving him one, but quickly decided not to).

I knew a guy to ask though so I shot him an email. 

Need some advice. 

My brother is looking for a good hunting knife. Someone recommended Benchmade. He went to the website and couldn’t decipher the lingo. Any recommendation? He is an avid deer hunter.

Then I get back a reply talking about coated verses uncoated (or is it non-coated?) blades, the different types of steel and curves of the blade and I thought-

“Wow, I just wanted a knife to tell my brother to buy. He isn’t technical and would just take my recommendation and go buy it.”

…and I still don’t have an answer for him.

Is it possible we have made buying a hunting (or any other) knife too complicated for the non-technical knife buyer? 

Published in: on December 3, 2008 at 5:00 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/has-buying-a-hunting-knife-gotten-too-complicated/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Absolutely. Most of the major vendors have so much available these days that it’s almost impossible to decipher what’s actually useful for a particular situation. I feel for nephew and wish him much luck. I don’t hunt so I can’t really give a recommendation unfortunately.

  2. The good news is there are a huge number of cool knives to select from.

  3. Hi! I happened upon your blog posting when doing a search and thought I’d offer some info and help. I’m Jason, I work in Marketing at Benchmade. Our website’s navigation and basic design principle is, quite simply, old. It’s still pushing along based on a concept of 6 or more years ago. We (and I) completely agree that it’s not easy to find what you need based on the use. And that’s why we’re looking to redesign the website within the next 6 months.

    As far as a great hunting knife (I am an avid deer and elk hunter in the northwest), I recommend the Model 556 Griptilian– for it’s price-point, blade style, and size. This knife can do everything from intricate slicing, to full hand guided “blind” internal cutting. For a cool aspect, there’s a similar knife in the “Bone Collector” series, which is the Model 15030, but out of the two, I like the blade shape of the 556.

    http://www.benchmade.com/556 or http://www.benchmade.com/15030

    I hope this is helpful, and please don’t hesitate to contact us for any one-on-one assistance. Thanks for your post!

    Jason

  4. *Links correction*

    http://www.benchmade.com/products/556 or http://www.benchmade.com/products/15030

    Jason


Leave a Reply

