Confession is good for the soul: I am an auctionholic

Weekend Edition (continued)

OK, it won’t be easy, but I’ll start our group session today. My name is Scott King and I am an auctionholic.

I just can’t help myself

When I get around an auction and hear the rhythm of the auctioneer’s chant something happens (like what happens to the hulk… except I don’t turn green and bulk up…instead, I just start raising my hand).

dadandmeActually, it is a genetic thing. I grew up going to auctions. I remember when I was 10 years old standing up on the podium with my father while he was auctioning. Yes, my father was an auctioneer, as was his father, and as was his father. It is an understatement to simply say auctions are in my blood. If I’m not involved with putting on the auction, then I have to buy something.

So, all the way back to 1915 and for 4 generations (Yes, I’m an auctioneer too, as is my brother and younger sister) we have been auctioneers.

Last Friday’s Knife Auction

Last Friday evening I posted I was going to Bruce Voyles’ Knife Auction.voylesauction Yeah, I knew better than to go. I had already determined there was nothing I was interested in, but what else did I have to do while out of town on a Friday night? Plus, I was so busy at the knife show playing CNJ I hadn’t bought anything.

How many times have you gone to a knife auction and ended up starting a new collection? Yes, I know that sounds crazy, but like I said when I go to an auction I have to buy something. Well, something I did buy.

To save you from the lot by lot, increment by increment (auctioneer’s lingo) description, I started off by buying a broken Marbles Folding Hunter…don’t ask why, but it was the beginning of me falling off the wagon. Mark Zalesky just rolled his eyes at me when he saw I was the high bidder on the MSA.

Now that I was off the wagon

Then I proceeded to start a folding hunter collection. In the story: How do you go about deciding to buy a knife? I had unsuccessfully tried to impulsively buy a half dozen of them earlier this month.

I guess impulse is a good word for what happened to this auctionholic, cause once I was off the wagon, I won the high bid for the Napanoch, Cattaraugus, Kabar, New York Knife Co., and Robeson folding hunters (well that is not entirely true cause I was out of the room when the Napanoch and Robeson were sold, so I had to buy them after the auction off of the guy who had bought them)…..yeah, but they are really cool and old and have great bone handles

So, what about you? Confession is good for the soul.

The topic at our next group session will be eBay auctions. 🙂

Published in: on November 29, 2008 at 12:31 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/11/29/confession-is-good-for-the-soul-i-am-an-auctionholic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

