Knife Shows are the lifeblood of Knife Collecting

 

nkcashowdaltonga1One of the best parts of knife collecting is going to the shows, but I have to tell you, I used to not feel this way. Instead, I thought shows were just a remnant of the old days (old timers swapping knives among themselves) and that their days were numbered. 

The first time I went to a show I drove 3.5 hours one way. I made my way up and down the rows and then was ready to go- partly a result of my personality (Type A- Task Oriented), but the other was I didn’t know any of the guys behind the table.

Then I began to meet knife folks and now I realize why knife shows are so important. Knife shows are for the people- on a personal level. Knife Shows fill the need of the social side of our hobby. It’s kinda like a reunion, of sorts, and in a way it isn’t really about the knives at all.

As much of a fan of the Internet (and knife forums) as I am, nothing substitutes for the one-on-one fellowship knife shows provide. Now instead of thinking they are leftovers from an era gone by, I now realize knife shows are the lifeblood of the hobby.

It wouldn’t be much fun, or very rewarding, if we just sat behind our computers buying knives without being able to see and experience the real heart of our hobby. Knife Shows are every bit as much a part of our hobby as the knives.

Today I am headed to Parker’s Show in Sevierville, Tennessee. If you come look me up. I’ll be the guy walking around with a video camera & recorder capturing the essence and characters of the show.

Published in: on November 19, 2008 at 8:16 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/11/19/knife-shows-are-the-lifeblood-of-knife-collecting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

