Photoblog: Collecting, a Pocket Knife & a Field of Rocks

Weekend Journal

Have you ever seen a field of boulders where each rock appears individually carved (as in whittled) in different shapes? Today’s post is a photoblog– a blog of pictures. But before I show you the amazing shapes of the rocks, I have to tell you…

If you don’t know me very well, I started my early collecting days with rocks. As I matured in my collecting preferences, I limited myself to rocks with holes through them- hence my tag line “…having as much fun as I did as a kid collecting rocks.”

My family and I went on a Bouldering trip at Horse Pens 40, one of the most famous sites in the world. It is located about 30 minutes from my house. Also, I equipped myself with an elephant toenail knife (that I never used…but had it nonetheless).

I wanted you to see these rocks for two reasons: The rocks themselves- each looked like it had been hand carved. The second reason is- so you will know I do have a life outside of CNJ and ElephantToenails.com.

Click on any photo to enlarge



These photos were not photoshopped or altered in anyway, other than two crops. Also, I only climbed easy rocks…like rocks I could walk up on.

Published in: on October 19, 2008 at 3:33 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/10/19/photoblog-collecting-a-pocket-knife-a-field-of-rocks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

