The pen is mightier than the sword?

When was the last time you came up on a bear out in the woods and didn’t have a gun or knife, but there in your shirt pocket was an ink pen?  

One of my Google Alerts

One of my Google Alerts

Well, the other night I was logging off when one of my Google Alerts came dinging into my Mac’s email.

One of the links said: “Is it a knife? It it a pen? No, it is both!

My curiosity got the best of me and I followed its trail. It took me to Gun and Game. It is a gun forum and one of its posts was about this pen/knife weapon. 

Then I followed it further to the maker of this fine writing instrument. The maker is Benchmade. The pen is the 1100 Series Pen:  Right there in black and white it says: “These Pens are definitely mightier than the sword.”

Here are its selling points:

  • Ergonomic Knurling Pattern Provides Superior Grip and Comfortable Texturing 
  • All Surfaces Have Been Anodized for Both Appearance and Wear 
  • CNC Machined 6061 T-6 Aluminum or Stainless Steel Body, Cap, and Grip 
  • Non-Reflective Components for Tactical Applications  
  • Ink Cartridges Manufactured by Fisher Pen Company 
  • Generation II BP-1 Coated Stainless Pen Clip 
Benchmade 1100 Series Pen

Benchmade 1100 Series Pen

 They really are positioning this pen as a weapon. I must admit it is pretty cool, plus it comes in different colors. Prices range from $120 to $180.

I would show them to you but Benchmark prohibits the use of the pictures from its site. So here it is from one of their dealers- One Stop Knife Store. You can order one or more directly from them.

If you want you can give me one for Christmas. I might need one next time I am writing in my knife journal (don’t ask…) and someone interrupts me.

Published in: on October 17, 2008 at 6:08 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/10/17/the-pen-is-mightier-than-the-sword/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I picked up the 1100 pen in black back in April while visiting benchmade’s HQ/factory. it’s the best writing instrument I have ever owned. I thought it would draw more attention, but if anyone ever comments on it, they just tell me it looks expensive, and many women say it’s attractive. I am disappointed in whatever anodized coating they use on the exterior. I am super careful with my knives and tools, especially stuff in this price range, but on the way out of a work meeting at a coffee shop, I dropped it on concrete!! The “combat” tip side was left with a large chip out of the end. It still functions perfectly as a pen, or worst case, as a weapon, but the finish is marred, and there’s no way to repair it.

  2. Thanks for the product review and commentary, Aaron. I thought it looked cool but just didn’t pull the trigger to get one.


Leave a Reply

