Knife Collecting and Sweet Home Alabama

You probably know by now, I jump at any chance to spend time enjoying our knife collecting hobby. 

This past Saturday morning, October 4th, I had the chance to attend one of Case’s President’s Tour Events. With the demands on the home front and my real job, I don’t often have the opportunity to go to knife shows or events, but with this one being about 80 miles from my hometown down here in sweet home Alabama, I worked it out to go.

The Case event was held in Parrish, a small town 30 minutes NW of Birmingham, Alabama. Shelby (my mustang) and I arrived about 9:20 and I was not surprised to find a line of collectors stretching out into the parking lot.

Case Outlet Parrish, Alabama

Case Outlet Parrish, Alabama

While standing in line, I was handed a sign-in sheet and counted 60 folks who had signed before me (and they only opened 20 minutes before I got there.) I also counted these folks were from Tennessee, Mississippi, Texas, Florida, Georgia and Alabama.

I chatted with the guy in front of me. He was a collector from about an hour away. The guy behind me was a Case dealer from Huntsville, Al. None of the three of us needed anything, but we obviously took advantage of opportunity to rub elbows with fellow collectors and to say “Hello” to the two special out of State guests of the event.

So there they were- Mr. Tom Arrowsmith, the president of Case, and Mr. Tony Bose, renowned knifemaker, in the middle of no-where Alabama. If you ever wonder why Case knives are so popular among collectors…wonder no more.

Tony Bose & Tom Arrowsmith

Tony Bose & Tom Arrowsmith

I said my “Hello’s” and then hit the road headed top-down back home….but not until after I got my autographs from them though.

Life is Good and Knife Collecting is Fun!

Published in: on October 6, 2008 at 6:08 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/10/06/knife-collecting-and-sweet-home-alabama/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

