Share the joy of collecting knives

Knife collecting is fun.

I think we’d all agree to that, right? But do you know what is equally as much fun? It’s what I’m going to call- Sharing the joy.

Sure, we all love tracking down new, in my case new old, knives to buy and all that is a part of that, but if you want to experience a different level of fun, then help a new collector.

What got me off on this today? This did-

Good morning Scott. Thanks for your reply.

I am pretty much a novice with elephant toenails, but am very captivated by the big funky old time nostalgia look and size. Most of the knives I have collected so far are bowies and conventional slipjoints. I have not ventured into the ancient past yet.

Any advice for starters?

If you know me at all, this was all she wrote. Katy bar the door. Advice, oh my, where do I even begin.

When collectors seek advice the responsibility we have to guide them is tremendous. Think about it. And, I bet if you had to do a quick list of the top 5 recommendations you could do that as fast as you could write, right? I couldn’t type fast enough.

What I found as I offered my suggestions was I enjoyed sharing the joy- helping this collector explore the world of elephant toenails.

So, this collector wanting some advice is what promoted today’s post here.

Want to experience a different level of fun? Then share the joy!

Published in: on February 27, 2010 at 9:33 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://cutlerynewsjournal.wordpress.com/2010/02/27/share-the-joy-of-collecting-knives/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Isn’t that what CNJ, and its little brother iKC, is all about ?

  2. I love helping others as well. It is one of the great joys of attening the gun/knife shows as a vendor. People come to you not only to buy knives but for knowledge on something they may already own or its a youngster just starting out, I keep a bunch of those little trick knives (usually imitation pearl handle that you open by pressing the blade in, tilting it and then release the blade). I hand one to the kiddo, and challenge him / her to open it. If they can successfully then its theirs for free. Then I give them a bit of history about that trick knife. It gets them going every time and some even get their parent to bring them back to see me when they want another addition to their collection.
    NOTE: I do verify with the parent that its ok for them to have the knife first.
    Makes for a good way to break the ice with a new collector and a neat little promo.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

